top of page

Long slow run

Sunday is the traditional day for the long slow run for those training for marathons. Weekday evenings leave little time for a two-hour-plus run. I have a place in the Greater Manchester Marathon, so it's time fo rme to start including longer runs in my weekly schedule. Today was my first over 10 miles since October.

For Christmas, one of my presents from my wife's family was a 'fuel belt' - a lightweight belt with elasticated loops for carrying energy gel sachets on long runs. Energy gels can perk you up or help you keep going when energy levels are low and the going gets tough on long runs.

2015-01-25 09.21.11.jpg

SSRIs like Sertaline take time to work - two weeks or more. In the meantime, the side effects can include increased anxiety and disorientation. During that time, support from family and friends can be vital. It's hard to know when it will be needed, so it needs to be close to hand. Like an energy gel in a handy belt.

This morning's run took me to Ruislip Lido, a one-time suburban reservoir that gives a good impression of being a Cumberland lake. It is partially frozen at the moment, the ice reflecting the late January sky.

join us

 for the 

PARTY

Recipe Exchange @ 9pm!

Nothing is either good or bad but thinking makes it so.

An occastional blog about running and other things.

Some time ago, my lifestyle decided to change me. I have not been the same since.

My Sponsors
Tag Cloud
Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Google+ Basic Black
bottom of page